Kevin Durant Leads Golden State Warriors To Win 2nd Title In 3 Years Over Cavs

Only three players in the history of the NBA have won Finals MVP during their first year on a new team – Magic Johnson in 1980, Moses Malone in 1983 and now Kevin Durant in 2017. Durant left the Oklahoma City Thunder, the team that drafted him 2nd overall in 2007, during free agency following the 2016 season and decided to go to Golden State to join Steph Curry, Klay Thompson, and Draymond Green with the Warriors.

Durant went to Golden State with the goal of becoming an NBA champion. Following a 5-game series where he averaged 35.2 points per game with 55.5% field goal percentage, 47.4% from 3-point range, and 92.7% from the free throw line and dethroned LeBron James and the reigning NBA Cavaliers, Durant can finally say that he is an NBA champion. Congrats KD!

– Contributed by Sontai Watson

WHUR Contributor

Stay Connected:

Comments Welcome