2018 Soul Train Music Awards Nominee List Revealed

Contributed by Anaya Ray 

BET recently revealed the nominees for the 2018 Soul Train Awards, with many artists earning multiple spots.

This year’s categories include Best New Artist, Soul Train Certified Award, Best R&B/Soul Female Artist, Best R&B/Soul Male Artist, Best Gospel/Inspirational Award, Rhythm & Bars Award (Best Hip-Hop Song Of The Year), Song Of The Year, Album/Mixtape Of The Year, The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award, Best Dance Performance, Best Collaboration Performance, and Video Of The Year.

According to Billboard, soulful R&B singer H.E.R. is this year’s top nominee with a total of seven nominations. Along with H.E.R, Grammy award-winner Bruno Mars and rapper Cardi B are tied with six nominations, SZA with five nominations, and rising R&B singers Ella Mai and Daniel Caesar with a total of four.

Besides the listed categories above, the Soul Train Awards will be honoring four-time Grammy winner Erykah Badu with the Legend Award, and songstress Faith Evans will receive the Lady of Soul Award.

This year’s hosts are none other than the dynamic duo Tisha Campbell-Martin and Tichina Arnold, which many may remember as Gina and Pam from the 90s sitcom Martin.

The complete list of nominees within each category for the 2018 Soul Train Awards are as followed.

Best New Artist nominees are Daniel Caesar, Jorja Smith, Kali Uchis, Leon Thomas, Normani, and Queen Naija.

Soul Train Certified Award nominees are Ashanti, Jorja Smith, Ledisi, Lenny Kravitz, MAJOR, and Tamia.

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist nominees are Beyonce’, Ella Mai, H.E.R., Mariah Carey, and SZA.

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist nominees are Bruno Mars, Childish Gambino, Daniel Caesar, John Legend, Khalid, and Tank.

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award nominees are Andra Day, Kirk Franklin, Lecrae, Snoop Dogg, and Tori Kelly.

Rhythm & Bars Award (Best Hip-Hop Song Of The Year) nominees are Cardi B, Childish Gambino, DJ Khaled, Drake, and The Carters.

Song Of The Year nominees are Bruno Mars, Ella Mai, H.E.R., SZA, and The Internet.

Album/Mixtape Of The Year nominees are Chloe X Halle, Chris Brown, H.E.R., Leon Bridges, Miguel, and The Internet.

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award nominees are songwriters who wrote, “Finesse” (Remix) by Bruno Mars ft. Cardi B, “Summertime Magic” by Childish Gambino, “Best Part” by Daniel Caesar ft. H.E.R., “Boo’d Up” by Ella Mai, “Focus” by H.E.R., and “Broken Clocks” by SZA.

Best Dance Performance nominees are Bruno Mars, Chris Brown, Ciara, HoodCelebrityy, and Janet Jackson.

Best Collaboration Performance nominees are Bruno Mars, Daniel Caesar, John Legend, Khalid, and SZA.

Lastly, Video Of The Year nominees are Bruno Mars, Ella Mai, H.E.R, SZA, and The Internet.

According to E News, last year’s winners list was dominated by Bruno Mars, who took home a total of six awards and SZA who won a total of two awards.

SZA, Bruno Mars, DJ Khaled, Cardi B, Khalid, Childish Gambino, Chris Brown, Kirk Franklin, and Beyonce’ have all landed a spot back on this year’s nominees list as well.

Presenters and performers for the 2018 Soul Train Awards will be revealed soon. The Soul Train Music Awards will air November 25 at 8 p.m. ET.


WHUR Contributor

Stay Connected:

Comments Welcome