Russel Westbrook Takes Home Most Valuable Player at NBA Awards

The first annual NBA Awards show, hosted by Drake, was held at Basketball City in New York, New York and featured the usual honors like MVP and Most Improved along with six all new awards based solely on fan votes. The show featured a performance by Nicki Minaj and 2 Chainz.

The winners are as follows:

Most Valuable Player: Russel Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder
Defensive Player of the Year: Draymond Green, Golden State Warriors
Most Improved Player: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
Sixth Man Award: Eric Gordon, Houston Rockets
Rookie of the Year: Malcolm Brogdon, Milwaukee Bucks
Coach of the Year: Mike D’Antoni
Executive of the Year: Bob Myers, Golden State Warriors
Sportsmanship Award: Kemba Walker, Charlotte Hornets
NBA Cares Community Assist Award: Isaiah Thomas, Boston Celtics
Sager Strong Award: Monty Williams, San Antonio Spurs
Hustle Award: Patrick Beverley, Houston Rockets
Teammate of the Year: Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks

The following were awarded based on fan votes:

Best Style: Russel Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder
Assist of the Year: Draymond Green and Stephen Curry to Kevin Durant, Golden State Warriors
Block of the Year: Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs
Dunk of the Year: Victor Oladipo, Oklahoma City Thunder
Game Winner of the Year: Russel Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder
Performance of the Year: Klay Thompson, Golden State Warriors
Best Playoff Moment: Kevin Durant, Golden State Warriors

Bill Russell received the Lifetime Achievement Award. Russell is a five-time NBA MVP, has made 12 All-Star appearances, won 11 NBA Championships as a player for the Boston Celtics between 1956 and 1969 and 2 more as a coach. He was inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 1975.

  • Contributed by Ra’Sontai Watson

WHUR Contributor

Stay Connected:

Comments Welcome