Primary Election Results

Muriel Bowser is in a familiar position.  She has won the Democratic nomination for mayor of DC for a third time.      Bowser defeated three challengers in Tuesday’s primary election that included DC council members Robert and Trayon White.  Bowser received just over 50 percent of the vote and won every ward except Ward 1 which was taken by challenger and council member Robert White.   In DC council races, Matthew Frumin is the Democratic primary winner in Ward 3 and  Zachary Parker in Ward 5.  Incumbents Brianne Nadeau (Ward 1), Anita Bonds (At-Large) and Phil Mendelson (Council chair) also primary winners. Brian Schwalb wins the DC Attorney General Democratic nomination.   In Virginia’s District 7 U.S. House race, Republican Yesli Vega will face Democratic incumbent Abigail Spanberger. In District 2, Congresswoman Elaine Luria takes on Republican challenger Jen Kiggins.  Incumbent Don Beyer ran unopposed in Virginia’s 8th District.